What are the Sacred Months

Reference: http://www.binbaz.org.sa/mat/3846

Question: What are the sacred months and why were they given this name? Is the sacredness for a specific place or is it for a specific thing?

Response: The sacred months are four:

Dhul Qa’idah;
Dhul Hijjah;
and Muharram.

One of them is on its own, and it is Rajab. The rest come one after the other, and they are Dhul Qa’idah, Dhul Hijjah and Muharram.

It appears that they were called sacred because Allaah prohibited battles between people during them. This is why they were called ‘Hurum’ which is the plural for ‘Haraam’.

Allaah the Mighty and Majestic said:

{Verily, the number of months with Allaah is twelve months (in a year), so was it ordained by Allaah on the Day when He created the heavens and the earth; of them four are Sacred} [At-Tawbah: 36]

He also said:

{They ask you concerning fighting in the Sacred Months. Say, “Fighting therein is a great (transgression)} [Al-Baqarah: 217]

This proves that battling is prohibited in them, and this is from the Allaah’s mercy over His servants, so that they may travel in these months to perform Hajj and ‘Umrah.

The scholars have differed regarding battles during these months, is the prohibition ongoing or has it been abrogated? There are two opinions:

The majority hold the opinion that the prohibition has been abrogated.

The second opinion states that the prohibition has not been abrogated, it is ongoing and continues to date. This opinion is stronger from the stand point of the evidence.


- from Ottawa, Canada. He is a graduate of the Islaamic University of Madeenah, having graduated from the Institute of Arabic Language, and later the Faculty of Hadeeth in 2003. He currently resides in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Related posts

Leave a Reply